

Black Sea



Key Points

- Physical Geography:
 - Bordering Countries: Ukraine, Russia, Georgia, Turkey, Bulgaria and Romania.
 - Also known as the **Euxine Sea**.
 - Surrounded by the **Pontic** (south), **Caucasus** (east), and **Crimean Mountains** (north).
 - The **Turkish straits system** the **Dardanelles, Bosporus and Marmara Sea -** forms a transitional zone between the Mediterranean and the Black Sea.
 - Sea of Azov forms a northern extension of the Black Sea linked by the Strait of Kerch.
 - Has anoxic water; significant absence of oxygen in the water.
- Russia Ukraine Conflict:
 - Area of Russian Military Control in Ukraine:
 - Donbass region, comprising Donetsk and Luhansk (2022)
 - Crimea: Russia annexed Crimea in 2014.
 - Mariupol and Odessa: Russia has its focus on:
 - Mariupol, the Sea of Azov port in Donetsk.

- Odessa, to the west of Crimea.
- Bosporus and Dardanelles Straits: The Montreux convention gives Turkey certain control over the passage of warships from the Dardanelles and Bosphorus Straits that connect the Aegean, Marmara, and Black Sea.
- Naval Exercise 'Sea Breeze': Involving NATO states and their allies.
- Environmental Concern:
 - Turkey's Sea of Marmara: The largest outbreak of 'sea snot'.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/black-sea-3