

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath Resigned From the Membership of the Legislative Council

Why in News?

• On March 21, 2022, the outgoing Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, resigned from his membership of the Legislative Council.

Key Points

- This resignation has been given by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath after being elected from Gorakhpur (Urban) seat in the recently concluded assembly elections.
- With the BJP winning 255 seats in the recently concluded elections, Adityanath will be the first chief minister to be re-elected after completing one term in Uttar Pradesh in the last 37 years. For this, on March 25, he will take oath as the Chief Minister.
- It is noteworthy that Yogi Adityanath will be the first Chief Minister in the last two decades who will be a member of the Legislative Assembly and not of the Legislative Council. The last Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh to have an assembly membership was Mulayam Singh Yadav, when he won the election from Gunnaur seat in the year 2003.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/chief-minister-yogi-adityanath-resigned-from-the-membership-of-the-legislative-council