

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections, 2022

Why in News

On March 10, 2022, the Election Commission declared the results of the assembly elections for 403 seats in the state, in which the Bharatiya Janata Party along with its allies won 273 seats and secured an absolute majority.

Key Points

- According to the Election Commission, out of all the 403 seats in the state, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 255 seats. Besides this, BJP's ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) won 12 seats and Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal (Nishad) won 6 seats.
- The main opposition party in the state Samajwadi Party (SP) stood at the second position, winning 111 seats. SP's ally Rashtriya Lok Dal won 8 seats and Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party won 6 seats.
- Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) won 8 seats and Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party won 6 seats. 2 seats were won by the Jansatta Dal Democratic.
- The Congress has been able to win only two seats, while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), once a major political power in Uttar Pradesh, could win only one seat.
- This time 4,442 candidates were in the fray in the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. Of these, 560 were women. Of these, 33 women candidates were successful. Maximum 25 women won from Bharatiya Janata Party. At the same time, 6 candidates of Samajwadi Party and one woman candidate of Congress won. In 2017, 38 women candidates won.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/uttar-pradesh-assembly-elections-2022