Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council Elections

Why in News

 On January 28, the Election Commission of India announced the election schedule for 35 seats in the local body area of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council.

Key Points

- According to the Election Commission, elections will be held in two phases for 35 seats in the local body area of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council. In the first phase, polling will be held for 29 seats on March 3 and in the second phase on March 7 for 6 seats.
- It is worth mentioning that just as there are two houses of Parliament, similarly according to Article 169 of the Constitution, there can be a Legislative Council in addition to the Legislative Assembly in the states.
- At present there are Legislative Councils in six states- Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Maharashtra and Karnataka.
- There are a total of 100 members in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, who are elected as follows-
 - One-third of the MLCs are elected by the state legislators.
 - In addition, 1/3 of the members are elected by local bodies, such as municipal and district boards, etc.
 - 1/12 members are elected by the people who have been teaching for 3 years and 1/12 members are elected by graduates living in the state for 3 years.
 - The remaining members are nominated by the Governor from amongst those who have special knowledge and practical experience of literature, knowledge, art, cooperative movement and social service.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/uttar-pradesh-legislative-council-elections