

## Four Members of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council Took Oath | Uttar Pradesh | 28 Oct 2021

## Why in News

• On October 27, 2021, four new members of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council were administered the oath in a ceremony held at the Vidhan Bhavan in Lucknow. Former Congress leader Jitin Prasada is also among the new office bearers.

## **Key Points**

- Apart from Jitin Prasad, Nishad (Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal) party chief Sanjay Nishad, Chaudhary Virendra Singh Gurjar and Gopal Anjan Bhurji were sworn in by <u>Legislative Council</u> Chairman Kunwar Manvendra Singh. These four members were nominated to the Upper House of the Uttar Pradesh legislature in September.
- The Nishad Party had contested the 2017 assembly election in alliance with the Peace Party led by Dr. Mohammad Ayub on 72 seats and was won by Vijay Mishra, the party's candidate from Bhadohi's Gyanpur constituency.
- There are a total of 100 seats in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, out of which Samajwadi Party has a maximum of 48 and BJP 33. The remaining members are from other parties.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/28-10-2021/uttar-pradesh/print