Chhattisgarh State Haj Committee Constituted

Why in News

On January 20, 2022, a notification for the formation of Chhattisgarh State Haj Committee was
issued by the Tribal and Scheduled Caste Development Department of the State Government.
According to the notification, the tenure of the members other than the ex-officio members of the
committee will be three years from the date of publication in the Official Gazette.

Key Points

- According to the notification issued, Forest and Climate Change, Housing and Environment Minister Mohammad Akbar has been nominated as a member of Chhattisgarh State Haj Committee.
- Similarly, Maulana Qari Syed Ashfaq Ahmed of Raipur, Maulana Dr. Qari Imran Ashrafi, Maulana Asghar Mehndi have been made members of the State Haj Committee as Muslim religious knowledge and Muslim law expert.
- Imtiaz Ahmed (Surajpur), Dr Rubina Alvi (Rajnandgaon), Shamim Akhtar (Raipur) having experience in the educational, cultural and social field of Muslim community have been appointed as members.
- Along with this, the Chairman of the State Waqf Board and the Executive Officer-Secretary of the State Haj Committee have been nominated as ex-officio members.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/chhattisgarh-state-haj-committee-constituted