

drishtiias.com/printpdf/highest-sports-decoration-award-2020

Why in News

On August 28, 2021, the State Level Sports Awards were announced by the Sports and Youth Welfare Department after the recommendation of the selection committee constituted for the highest sports awards of Madhya Pradesh and with the approval of the Sports and Youth Welfare Minister of the state.

Key Points

- For the year 2020, 13 Eklavya, 10 Vikram, 3 Vishwamitra, 1 Late Prabhash Joshi and 1 LifeTime Achievement Award have been announced by the state government.
- The LifeTime Achievement Award for the year 2020 will be given to Padma Shri Abhay Chhajlani, while Olympic hockey player of the state Vivek Sagar will be awarded the state's best Vikram Award.

- The list of persons announced for the year 2020 state level sports awards is as follows-
 - Eklavya Award:
 - Individual Category Sushma Verma, Kayaking-Canoeing (Sehore), Tushita Singh, Soft Tennis (Bhopal), Sparsh Khare, Wushu (Jabalpur), Arjun Singh, Horse Riding (Bhopal), Sunil Davar, Athletics (Barwani), Gauranshi Sharma, Badminton (Divyang) (Bhopal), Rammilan Yadav, Sailing (Tikamgarh), Ankit Sharma, Fencing (Gwalior), Anuradha Ahirwar, Archery (Bhopal), Preeti Rajak, Shooting (Hoshangabad), Shashank Patel, Taekwondo (Bhopal).
 - Group Category Sadhna Sengar, Hockey (Hoshangabad) and Dhruvraj Kurre, Powerlifting (Bhopal).
 - Vikram Award:
 - Individual Category Vishwajit Singh, Canoe-Slalom (Hoshangabad), Sunidhi Chauhan, Shooting (Bhopal), Nidhi Nanhet, Karate (Balaghat), Paridhi Joshi, Horse Riding (Indore), Manju Bamboria, Boxing (Ujjain), Ekta Yadav, Sailing (Bhopal). Party Sports - Vivek Sagar Prasad, Hockey (Hoshangabad), Harshvardhan Tomar, Basketball (Gwalior), Pooja Malviya, Mallakhamb (Ujjain).
 - Divyang Category Prachi Yadav, Para Canoe (Gwalior).
 - Vishwamitra Award:
 - Individual Category Virendra Dabas, Para Swimming and Para Athletics (Gwalior) and Richpal Singh Salaria, Archery (Jabalpur).
 - Group Category Dr. Habib Hassan is involved.
 - LifeTime Achievement Award: Abhay Chhajlani, Padma Shri and former President Indore Table Tennis Association.
 - Late Prabhas Joshi Sports Award: Vaishnavi Kahar, Mallakhamb (Ujjain).