Hindi Diwas | 15 Sep 2021

Why in News

Every year, 14th September is celebrated as Hindi Diwas in India.

  • One of the reasons behind celebrating this day is to prevent the increasing trend of the English language in the nation and the neglect of Hindi.

Key Points

  • History of the Hindi Diwas:
    • Hindi, written in the Devanagari script, was adopted as the official language of the Republic of India on 14th September, 1949.
      • Kaka Kalelkar, Maithili Sharan Gupta, Hazari Prasad Dwivedi, Seth Govindadas made important contributions to make Hindi the official language.
    • The first Hindi Day was celebrated in 1953.
    • Besides Hindi, English is the other official language (Article 343 of the Constitution).
    • Hindi is also an eighth schedule language.
    • Article 351 pertains to ‘Directive for development of the Hindi language’.
    • Hindi is not a classical language.
  • World Hindi Day:
    • It is observed on 10th January.
    • Commemorates the anniversary of the first World Hindi Conference held in Nagpur on 10th January, 1975, which saw 122 delegates from 30 countries participating in it.
    • First celebrated in 2006 by former Indian Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh with an aim to promote Hindi language across the world.
    • The World Hindi Secretariat building was inaugurated in Mauritius in 2018.
  • About the Hindi Language:
    • Origin:
      • Hindi got its name from the Persian word Hind, meaning 'land of the Indus River'. Turkish invaders in the early 11th century named the language of the region Hindi, 'language of the land of the Indus River'.
      • The modern Devanagari script came into existence in the 11th century.
    • Spoken in Countries outside India:
      • Hindi is the fifth most spoken language among the total languages spoken in the world.
        • It is spoken in Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, USA, UK, Germany, New Zealand, United Arab Emirates, Uganda, Guyana, Suriname, Trinidad, Mauritius, and South Africa.
  • Related Government Initiatives:
    • The Central Hindi Directorate was established in 1960 under the Ministry of Education with an aim to impart knowledge of Hindi through correspondence to the people of non-Hindi speaking Indian states, Indians settled abroad and foreign nationals desirous of learning Hindi.
    • Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) has established ‘Hindi Chairs’ in various foreign universities/institutions abroad.
    • LILA-Rajbhasha (Learn Indian Languages through Artificial Intelligence) is a multimedia based intelligent self-tutoring application for learning Hindi.
    • E-Saral Hindi Vakya Kosh and E-Mahashabdkosh Mobile App, both initiatives of the Department of Official Language, aim to harness information technology for the growth of Hindi.
    • Rajbhasha Gaurav Puraskar and Rajbhasha Kirti Puraskar recognise contributions to Hindi.

Source: IE