Chief of Defence Staff | 30 Dec 2019

Why in News

The government has modified the Service Rules of the Army, Navy and Air Force to enable the appointment of the Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) and fix the upper age limit at 65 if a service chief is appointed to the post of CDS.

  • The service (Army, Navy and Indian Air Force) chiefs, when appointed, are usually given a tenure of three years or till they attain the age of 62 years, whichever is earlier.
  • However, the tenure of the CDS has not been fixed yet.

Chief of Defence Staff

  • The Cabinet Committee on Security approved the creation of the CDS on 24th December 2019.
  • Role
    • The CDS will act as the principal military adviser to the defence minister on all matters relating to tri-services. He will be appointed in a four-star rank at par with the three service chiefs.
    • The CDS will also serve as the permanent chairman of the Chiefs of Staff Committee (CoSC) which comprises the three service chiefs.
      • So far, the chairmanship of the CoSC has not been permanent and is held in rotation by the senior-most service chief, which has caused problems of inadequate attention and short tenures as Chairman, CoSC.
    • The tri-service agencies, organisations and commands relating to cyber and space will be under the command of the CDS.
    • The CDS will also function as the Military Adviser to the Nuclear Command Authority.
  • Major Responsibilities
    • The key mandate of the CDS will be to facilitate the restructuring of military commands for optimal utilisation of resources by bringing about jointness in operations, including through the establishment of joint/theatre commands.
    • To achieve jointness in operation, logistics, transport, training, support services, communications, repairs and maintenance of the three services within three years of assuming office.
  • The CDS will not be eligible to hold any government post after demitting office. The CDS will also not be allowed to take up any private employment, without prior approval, for a period of five years after demitting (resigning) the office.

Source: TH