Announcement of New Science Awards | 22 Sep 2023

Source: TH

Why in News?

The Central Government has decided to introduce 56 prizes under the category of Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (3 Vigyan Ratna, 25 Vigyan Shri, 25 Yuva Vigyan Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, 3 Vigyan Team Awards) to felicitate scientists.


  • Akin to prestigious Padma awards, these awards will not include any cash component.
  • The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar shall be given in the 13 science-related domains.

What are the Key Highlights About these Awards?

  • Included Awards:
    • Vigyan Ratna Awards:
      • These awards will recognise lifetime achievements & contributions made in any field of science and technology.
    • Vigyan Shri Awards:
      • These awards will recognise distinguished contributions to any field of science and technology.
    • Vigyan Team Awards:
      • These awards are to be given to a team comprising of three or more scientists/researchers/innovators who have made an exceptional contribution working in a team in any field of science and technology.
    • Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB):
      • These awards are the highest multidisciplinary science awards in India for the young scientists (maximum 45 years).
      • They are named after Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, the founder and director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR), who was also a renowned chemist and visionary.
  • Awards Open to PIOs:
    • Persons of Indian origin (PIOs) will now be eligible for the new awards, but only one PIO may receive the Vigyan Ratna.
    • Three PIOs each can be selected for the Vigyan Shri and the VY-SSB.
      • However, PIOs will not be eligible for the Vigyan Team awards.

What is National Technology Day?

  • About:
    • The day, which was first observed in 1999, aims to commemorate the scientific and technological achievements of Indian scientists, engineers.
      • The day was named by the former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
    • Every year, the Technology Development Board of India under the Ministry of Science and Technology celebrates the day by awarding individuals with the National Award for their contribution to science and technology.
  • Significance:
    • It is the day India successfully tested nuclear bombs in Pokhran on 11th May, 1998.
    • India successfully test-fired its Shakti-1 nuclear missile in operation called Pokhran-II, also codenamed as Operation Shakti.

UPSC Civil Services Examination Previous Year Question (PYQ)


Q. For outstanding contribution to which one of the following fields is Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize given? (2009)

(a) Literature
(b) Performing Arts
(c) Science
(d) Social Service

Ans: (c)