Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
सेमिनार: अंग्रेज़ी सीखने का अवसर (23 सितंबर: दोपहर 3 बजे)
Six Countries Added to e-Visa List
Feb 28, 2015

Citizens from China, the United Kingdom, Spain, France, Italy and Malaysia will soon be able to get online visas to India, increasing the number of countries that can avail this facility to 50.

Key Points

  • India introduced electronic visa for 44 countries in November last year.

  • The six countries recommended for issuance of e-visa are China, the UK, Spain, France, Italy and Malaysia.

  • Countries that already have the electronic visa authorization or online visa facility include the US, Australia, Japan, Israel, Germany and Russia.

  • India has already issued 65,000 e-visas in the last 75 days and, on an average, 1000 electronic visa authorizations are being issued a day.

  • There was a 421.6% increase in tourist arrivals during December 2014 compared to the previous year. 

  • India had issued 2,700 visas in December 2013 whereas the number of ETAs issued during December 2014 was 14,083.

  • The online visa facility is applicable to visitors travelling to India for recreation, short-duration medical treatment and business visits for a stay of 30 days.

  • It is available at nine airports—Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Kochi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Thiruvananthapuram.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.