Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
mains Test Series 2018
New Schemes for Development of Tourism
May 14, 2015

The Ministry of Tourism has launched two new schemes in the last financial year to boost tourism in the country:

1. Swadesh Darshan for Integrated Development of Tourist Circuits around Specific Themes.

2. National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive (PRASAD) to beautify and improve the amenities and infrastructure at pilgrimage centres of all faiths.

Under Swadesh Darshan, the following five circuits have been identified for development:

1. North East Circuit

2. Buddhist Circuit

3. Himalayan Circuit

4. Coastal Circuit

5. Krishna Circuit

Under PRASAD, initially twelve cities have been identified namely Ajmer, Amritsar, Amravati, Dwarka, Gaya, Kedarnath, Kamakhaya, Kanchipuram, Mathura, Puri, Varanasi and Velankanni.

A budget provision of Rs.600.00 crore and Rs.100.00 crore is available for Swadesh Darshan & PRASAD respectively for the year 2015-16.

Projects Sanctioned under Swadesh Darshan

  • North-East Circuit: Bhalukpong – Bomdila-Tawang in Arunachal Pradesh.

  • Buddhist Circuit: Cultural Centre, Bodhgaya.

  • Coastal Circuit: Kakinada-Hope Island-Konaseema as World Coastal & Eco Tourism Circuit (Phase-I) in Andhra Pradesh.

Projects Sanctioned under PRASAD

  • Gaya: Development of Basic Facilities at Vishnupad Temple, Gaya, Bihar.

  • Puri: Infrastructure Development at Puri.

  • Mathura: Development of Mathura-Vrindavan.

  • Mathura: Mathura Tourist Facilitation Centre.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.