Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
NARENDRA MODI: 15th Prime Minister of India
May 27, 2014

New Delhi: Narendra Damodardas Modi , 63, took oath as India's Prime Minister. Almost 4000 people were present at the ceremony held in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Narendra Modi invited leaders from eight South Asian neighbours to his swearing-in ceremony, including Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, an unprecedented gesture that was as much a show of his determination to be a key player on the global stage. 

At Rashtrapati Bhavan, Mr Sharif sat next to Narendra Modi's predecessor, Manmohan Singh.  On Manmohan Singh's other side was Hamid Karzai, President of Afghanistan. Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Mauritian Prime Minister Navinchandra Ramgoolam, Nepal's Prime Minister Sushil Koirala, Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay of Bhutan and Bangladesh parliament Speaker Shirin Sharmin. After the ceremony, Nawaz Sharif was the first to shake hands with the new Prime Minister. In the audience were two former presidents, Sonia and Rahul Gandhi, top industrialists, Bollywood actors and saints. 

There are 23 ministers of Cabinet rank, 10 Ministers of State with Independent charge and 12 Ministers of State in the new union council of ministers. The oldest is Najma Heptulla, 74, the youngest Smriti Irani, 38.


(Cabinet Ministers) 

  • Rajnath Singh: Home Minster 
  • Sushma Swaraj: External Affairs & Overseas Indian Affairs 
  • Arun Jaitley: Finance Corporate Affairs & Defence 
  • M. Venkaiah Naidu: Urban Development Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation & Parliamentary Affairs 
  • Nitin Jairam Gadkari: Road Transport and Highways Shipping 
  • D.V. Sadananda Gowda: Railways 
  • Uma Bharati: Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation 
  • Dr. Najma A. Heptulla: Minority Affairs 
  • Gopinathrao Munde: Rural Development, Panchayati Raj & Drinking Water and Sanitation 
  • Ramvilas Paswan: Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution 
  • Kalraj Mishra: Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises 
  • Maneka Gandhi: Women and Child Development 
  • Ananthkumar: Chemicals and Fertilizers 
  • Ravi Shankar Prasad: Communications and Information Technology & Law and Justice 
  • Ashok Gajapathi Raju: Civil Aviation 
  • Anant Geete: Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises 
  • Harsimrat Kaur Badal: Food Processing Industries 
  • Narendra Singh Tomar: Mines & Steel Labour and Employment 
  • Jual Oram: Tribal Affairs 
  • Radha Mohan Singh: Agriculture 
  • Thaawar Chand Gehlot: Social Justice and Empowerment 
  • Smriti Zubin Irani: Human Resource Development 
  • Dr. Harsh Vardhan: Health and Family Welfare 

(Minister of States) 

  • General V.K. Singh: Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge) & External Affairs Overseas Indian Affairs 
  • Inderjit Singh Rao: Planning (Independent Charge), Statistics and Programme Implementation (Independent Charge) & Defence 
  • Santosh Kumar Gangwar: Textiles (Independent Charge), Parliamentary Affairs Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation 
  • Shripad Yesso Naik: Culture (Independent Charge) & Tourism (Independent Charge) 
  • Dharmendra Pradhan: Petroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge) 
  • Sarbananda Sonowal: Skill Development, Entrepreneurship, Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge) 
  • Prakash Javadekar: Information and Broadcasting (Independent Charge), Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge) & Parliamentary Affairs 
  • Piyush Goyal: Power (Independent Charge), Coal (Independent Charge) & New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge) 
  • Dr. Jitendra Singh: Science and Technology (Independent Charge), Earth Sciences (Independent Charge), Prime Minister Office Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions Department of Atomic Energy Department of Space
  • Nirmala Sitharaman: Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge), Finance Corporate Affairs
  • G.M. Siddeshwara: Civil Aviation 
  • Manoj Sinha: Railways 
  • Nihalchand: Chemicals and Fertilizers 
  • Upendra Kushwaha: Rural Development, Panchayati Raj & Drinking Water and Sanitation 
  • Radhakrishnan P: Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises 
  • Kiren Rijiju: Home Affairs 
  • Krishan Pal: Road Transport and Highways Shipping 
  • Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan: Agriculture & Food Processing Industries 
  • Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava: Tribal Affairs 
  • Raosaheb Dadarao Danve: Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution 
  • Vishnu Deo Sai: Mines, Steel & Labour and Employment 
  • Sudarshan Bhagat: Social Justice and Empowerment 

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.