Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
सेमिनार: अंग्रेज़ी सीखने का अवसर (23 सितंबर: दोपहर 3 बजे)
Indian Railways Identifies Nine Corridors for Semi High Speed Trains
Dec 11, 2014

9 corridors—Delhi-Agra, Delhi-Chandigarh, Delhi-Kanpur, Nagpur-Bilaspur, Mysore-Bengaluru-Chennai, Mumbai-Goa, Mumbai-Ahmedabad, Chennai-Hyderabad & Nagpur-Secunderabad have been identified for raising the speeds of passenger trains to 160/200 kmph.  The first passenger train at 160 kmph will be run from New Delhi to Agra.

The limit of speed of trains is regulated in accordance with the classification of routes having particular type of track structure.  The Broad Gauge (BG) lines on Indian Railways have been classified into six groups ‘A’ to ‘E’ on the basis of the future maximum permissible speed.

  • Group ‘A’-Speeds upto 160 kmph.

  • Group ‘B’-Speeds upto 130 kmph

  • Group ‘C’-Suburban section of Mumbai, Chennai, Delhi & Calcutta

  • Group ‘D’ special & ‘D’-Speeds upto 110 kmph

  • Group ‘E-Speeds upto 100 kmph.

The total expenditure on upgradation works for Delhi-Agra section including fencing at vulnerable locations is estimated to be Rs. 16.35 crore.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.