Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Indian Public Health Standards
Sep 11, 2014

Indian Public Health Standards (IPHS) have been developed for Sub-centres, Primary Health Centres (PHCs), Community Health Centres (CHCs), Sub-District and District Hospitals. IPHS are a set of uniform standards envisaged to improve the quality of health care delivery in the country and have been used as the reference point for public health care infrastructure planning and up-gradation in the States and UTs. 

As per IPHS guidelines, the services that different levels of facilities are expected to provide are grouped under two categories i.e. Minimum Assured Services or Essential Services and Desirable Services. Essential Services should be available at the facility which includes promotive, preventive, curative, referral services and all the national health programmes. The services which are indicated as ‘Desirable’ are for the purpose that states should aspire to achieve for the particular level of the facility.

IPHS guidelines are recommendatory in nature and not mandatory. Health being a State subject, the primary responsibility of bringing up facilities to IPHS norms is that of the states government. Under NHM, financial support is provided to states inter-alia to bring up facilities to IPHS norms. 

Under National Health Mission, financial support is provided to the states through following key programme components to strengthen their health facilities:

  • Reproductive & Child Health

  • Immunization & Pulse Polio Programme 

  • Family Planning 

  • Adolescent Health

  • National Urban Health Mission 

  • Health System Strengthening including Human Resource, renovation and creation of infrastructure, drugs & supplies, procurement of equipments, Quality Assurance, Rogi Kalyan Samitis, Untied funds, and training of medical and para medical staff. 

  • National Disease Control Programmes (Revised National Tuberculosis Control Programme, National Vector Born Disease Control Programme, Integrated Disease Surveillance Progarmme, National Leprosy Eradication Programme)

  • Non Communicable Disease Control Programmes (National Programme for Control of Diabetes, Cancer and Stroke, National Programme for Control of Blindness, National Programme for the Health Care of Elderly etc.)

  • Infrastructure Maintenance

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.